That’s No Moon… It’s a Hotel!

You think getting a hotel room during convention season might require careful planning, imagine trying to book a stay at the forthcoming Galactic Suite, the first hotel planned in space. According to Reuters, via Yahoo:

“Galactic Suite” … expects to open for business in 2012 and would allow guests to travel around the world in 80 minutes.

Its Barcelona-based architects say the space hotel will be the most expensive in the galaxy, costing $4 million for a three-day stay.

Steep, sure, but we understand it comes with a continental breakfast.

29 Responses to That’s No Moon… It’s a Hotel!

  1. Stooge says:

    That’s one towel I’d definitely steal.

  2. Thrawn says:

    Awesome. Now if only I had 4 million to spare…

  3. John Jackson says:

    I’m surprised how much play this story is getting considering how little evidence there is that this is little more than someone’s joke design project for fun. Especially when there is another, more legitimate company like Bigelow Aerospace that also intends on having a private space station by 2012 but can back that up with TWO test modules actually in space and actually has a manufacturing facility.

    I mean, the reporter takes their word for it when they say some American who they can’t name is giving them $3 billion. I figure I could got to the same reporter and say someone is giving me a couple billion to build the world’s biggest saussage and it will make the headlines the next day.

    Not sure how much competition to Bigelow they really are, and I also have doubts about their $3 billion funding figure. I think we need more proof than their word.

    Bigelow has:
    – A manufacturing plans currently building the modules for its stations
    – A corporate structure
    – Two test modules currently in space
    – A concrete business plan
    – More than 100 employees

    Galactic Suite has:
    – A Web site with nice illustrations. Though its strange title font looks like it was done in Microsoft Paint.

    This seems like little more than a nice Web site and fancy illustrations. Galactic Suite also seems to indicate it would use the Space Shuttle for construction, which would be news to NASA, which plans to put the orbiters in the Smithsonian by 2010.

    Seems like more vaporware to me. I’d rather put my money on Bigelow to build the first private space station.

    Bigelow put up some cool, REAL pictures from space on this page: http://bigelowaerospace.com/out_there/view_photos.php.

  4. star wars fan says:

    there probably not get enough customers because it cost like more then 1 million a night.
    the only people who would go are celebrities and rich company owners. and you know many celebs are frightened to go to space, it’s like, “o.m.g, there is really no air up there, i never knew that thanks for telling me”

  5. Expensive, but I think there are enough people with lots of money ant time to spend🙂

  6. laserbrain 10 says:

    Great, now I gotta get a better job to go on my honeymoon

  7. Megatrends says:

    hahaha the description of simple things like going to bathroom in space with no gravity are funny to think about.

    Bring your own water!! Nobody wants to see a space floater of that magnitude!!

  8. carlos501st says:

    IN HSTORY CHANNEL THEY SAID A METOR WILL HITEARTH IN 2012 LOL

  9. […] That’s No Moon… It’s a Hotel! You think getting a hotel room during convention season might require careful planning, imagine trying to book a stay […] […]

  10. Juul says:

    Cool!:) New I’m gonna find a job!:P

  11. ninja 5 says:

    i dont like the sound of bigelow

  12. big boi says:

    hahaha i think i have a better shot

  13. big boi says:

    hahaha

  14. Mark Newbold says:

    I think the venue for Celebration 10 has been decided on then…

  15. laserbrain 10 says:

    That continental breakfast had better be the best I’ve ever tasted:)

  16. jediprincess says:

    If they could build it in the shape of the Death star, then maybe I will go. If only I had $400,000 to spare.:)

  17. zachstarwalker says:

    only 5 more years to go. maybe i can get it as a late graduation present

  18. Gabe says:

    OMG!!!!!!! LOL WHAT????????? You guys are kidding right??? It’s cool and all but it’s sad that we can barley get our poor astronaughts in space, fearing death or damage to them and the shuttles. I mean are they using they’re own space ships too??

  19. sam says:

    wow. yeh know there having enough problems even getting into space(and back…. in one piece) never mind having a hotel. but i agree if i were to go there id steal the towel, the soaps, the tv, the do not disturb sign…. yeh besides what kind of beds are the gonna have nasa aerospace contouring foam beds ???? yes well when u can drop me of at mos eisley or endor or fulsia let me know cuz i want to hang with the ewoks the jawas, alya seruca andl leia oh yeah and chewwy, yoda and mual and mac too yeh if i were spending 4 mil i’d want some action

  20. sam says:

    gimme a lightsaber while yer at it

  21. Anonymouse says:

    carlos501st, they know this how?

    Besides that already got sent our way by Anubis, SG-1 blew it up!

  22. Anonymouse says:

    Though this sounds reeeeeeally cool ….

    Too bad no one will be able to pay for it except super-rich people.

  23. vadersgirl33 says:

    I definitely agree with jediprincess. I’d want it to look like the Death Star. Having Darth Vader around wouldn’t be bad either. But I don’t have $4 million to spare, so I’d hope to get a job there.

  24. Jason says:

    Wow. That’s quite a price tag. I’ll bet that’s the single occupancy rate. But i’ve heard that they will slice off half the cost for each additional person, so it’s a real bargain. You will also get free turn-down service, but the mints cost $50,000 each. I guess I’ll just have to work a little harder.

  25. Jason P. says:

    I can’t believe you guys are wasting your time replying to this stupid article! Wait a minute….

  26. Sammy R says:

    you just replyed to article, it would be groovy but at the science rate of getting people into space, i dont think it is possible……yet

  27. Garbonolonius says:

    I want an application, forget paying 4 mil, i would love to get paid AND be there. i bet the pay checks would be awwwwsome.

  28. Darthdude56789 says:

    Sounds sweet but Ibet they dont have a swimming pool.

  29. Darthdude56789 says:

    When I win the lottery I know were i’m going!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

